(713) 526-5665

The Fellowship Program

In his ongoing commitment to the specialty and to improving quality patient care, Dr. Kridel is a Fellowship Director for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) Fellowship Program.

The AAFPRS Fellowship Program is considered the best postgraduate program in the world for training facial plastic and reconstructive surgeons and is widely respected by the medical community at large. Through this program, surgeons refine their surgical techniques and develop new skills and specialized knowledge in facial plastic surgery.

Dr. Kridel’s fellowship program is one of just 46 sanctioned programs across the United States and Canada and one of only two programs in Texas. Based on his reputation for superior surgical skills and innovative techniques, a fellowship with Dr. Kridel is one of the most sought after by the best and the brightest physicians that have graduated at the top of their respective medical training programs. He receives over 25 applicants each year from around the country just for the one position.

Applicants to the Fellowship Program must have already completed medical school and must also have completed an additional Otolaryngology or Plastic Surgery residency from an accredited institution or have obtained board-certification in Otolarynogology-Head and Neck Surgery or Plastic Surgery. These physicians could go into practice at this time, but have chosen instead to take an extra year for specialized training in facial plastic surgery. By training with Dr. Kridel, it gives them a jump-start on their skills when they begin their own practices.

Patients should feel comfortable in knowing that Dr. Kridel will be performing their surgery, not the Fellow. The Fellows learn through observation and assistance with Dr. Kridel. They develop their surgical expertise operating on their own patients at the university and county hospitals.

Not just anyone can be awarded a Fellowship program. It takes the Education and Research Foundation of the AAFPRS over three years of extensive investigation to review the rigorous credentials required to be granted this very prestigious honor and designation. Dr. Kridel was awarded a Fellowship program in 1982 and has had 30 fellows successfully complete their fellowship training under his guidance.

Dr. Kridel’s Fellows include:

Fred Aguilar MD, Kenneth Buchwach MD, Ed Szachowicz , MD, Kevin Shumrick MD, Richard Price MD, Larry Marcus MD, J. Raymond Konoir MD, J.D. Gonzales MD, Fred Bressler MD, Bernard Pacella MD, Hossam Feda MD, Bruce Scott MD, Suzanne Yee MD, Kevin Lunde MD, Leonard Covello MD, Paul Evangelisti MD, Paul Kelly MD, Ali Rezaee MD, Kevin Cavanaugh MD, Edward Liu MD, Michel Siegel MD, Lee Klausner MD, Peyman Soliemanzadeh MD, Robert Chiu MD, Edward Kwak MD, Dominic Castellano MD, Matthew Bridges MD, Anand Patel MD, Samir Undavia MD, Angela Sturm MD, David Burstein MD and Eric Yavrouian MD.

Dr. Kridel and the Fellows have performed a tremendous service to the specialty through the development and dissemination of new procedures, improvement of patient care and the refinement of surgical techniques in facial plastic surgery.


2014-2015 FPSA Fellow Christian Conderman MD

2014-2015 FPSA Fellow
Christian Conderman MD


Our fellow for 2014-2015, Dr. Christian Conderman, completed residency in Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery in 2014 at University of California-Irvine Medical Center prior to joining Dr. Kridel for facial plastic surgery fellowship training. He received is Doctor of Medicine degree from University of Kansas School of Medicine in 2009.

Dr. Conderman has already co-authored several scientific publications and book chapters on nasal surgery, including a Laryngoscope medical journal article on the mechanical analysis of cartilage graft reinforced with PDS plate. Dr. Kridel has also invited Dr. Conderman to co-author a scientific publication on the subject of lateral crural steal technique in Rhinoplasty during his fellowship year.

Raised in Germany, Dr. Conderman is fluent in both German and Spanish.  He enjoys travelling, following soccer and tennis.   Be careful on the courts, Dr. Conderman was once ranked in the top 100 under 18 juniors.


Dr. Kridel discusses his commitment to teaching and the prestigious Fellowship Program